لاحظت صحيفة فاينانشال تايمز أن "... واحدة من أفضل جداً..." صورة / svg + xml

مسرد الكافيار لبحر قزوين موناركي

أيسيبينسيريدا

 

هذه الأسرة التصنيفية تضم حوالي 26 نوعا من الأسماك، بما في ذلك أجناس Acipenser (الأطلسي، Baerii، بحيرة، أوسيرترا، سيفروجا، سيبيريا، الأبيض وغيرها من سمك الحفش) هوسو (بيلوغا وكيلوغا الحفش)، Scaphirhynchus (ألاباما، باليد ومجرف [Hackleback] الحفش، وكلها أصلية في أمريكا الشمالية) وSpsscaphirhynchus (ثلاثة أنواع في غرب آسيا الوسطى، بما في ذلك سير داريا Shovelnose، أمو- درشونوس وكاشوفوس.

الطحالب

 

انظر نكهة

ألماس الكافيار

 

أندر وأغلى الكافيار في العالم. كلمة "ألماس" تعني "الماس" باللغة الفارسية. هذا الكافيار خاصة يأتي من سمك الحفش المهق الحفش أويسترا التي هي أكثر من 70 سنة. وهذا يعني أنه من النادر جدا أن تواجه وعلاج مرة واحدة في العمر. كبار السن من الأسماك، والكريمة ونكهة خفية من البيض هي. كيلو واحد من الكافيار ألمس يستحق 44،000 دولار ، أغلى من الذهب ، وفقا لكتاب غينيس للأرقام القياسية العالمية

أندادروموس

 

الأسماك المُعَدّة هي سمكة مياه مالحة تنتقل إلى المياه العذبة لتُفرخ. سمك الحفش في بحر قزوين هو سمكة مُخَدّرة، وقد انقرضت تقريباً بسبب سدود الأنهار المؤدية إلى بحر قزوين، مما أدى إلى إبعاد سمك الحفش عن أراضي التفريخ.

تربيه الاحياء المائيه

 

استزراع الأسماك. يمكن أن يؤديها في الداخل أو في الهواء الطلق أو في أجزاء من الأنهار.

الكافيار الاصطناعي

 

الكافيار الذي تم زراعته في مزرعة لا تستخدم المياه الطبيعية للموئل الأصلي للحفش.

ASETRA أو الذهبي الإيراني ASETRA الكافيار

 

شركة "جولدن إيراني" (أويسترا الإيرانية) هي من بحر قزوين المتاخم لإيران. Asetra الإيراني لديه نكهة معقدة ومتطورة التي تتراوح في اللون من الظلام إلى الرمادي الفاتح. وهو 2ثاني أغلى الكافيار بعد بيلوغا الإيرانية. اسم "الإيراني الذهبي" يأتي من اللون الذهبي. الكافيار نادر جدا بسبب البيئة البكر على طول الساحل الإيراني، الذي يحتوي على تربة نظيفة جدا والهواء.

BAERII الكافيار والحفش

 

يسبح سمك الحفش السيبيري في إيران وروسيا وكازاخستان، وإلى حد أقل، في الصين. وسمك الحفش في بايري على قائمة الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض في الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة بسبب الصيد الجائر. Baerii هو في بعض الأحيان تسويق مضللة كما أويسترا، على الرغم من أنها ليست كذلك. يمكن حصاد الكافيار Baerii من 6 إلى 9 سنوات من العمر بينما يأخذ أوسيترا 12-15 سنة. وBaerii هو أصغر بكثير من سمك الحفش أوسيترا ولكن يستنسخ أسرع بكثير.

بيلياك (تاريخي)

 

الحفش الإناث ناضجة.

بيلوغا كافيار

 

وBeluga whit(هوسو هوسو)هو أكبر أنواع سمك الحفش وينمو ما يصل إلى 30 قدما طويلة ويزن ما يصل إلى 3.300 جنيه ضخم. وBeluga يأكل الأسماك الصغيرة و roe تشكل حوالي 15٪ من وزن الجسم. الكافيار بيلوغا نادر حيث يستغرق من 18 إلى 30 سنة لأنثى أن تنضج وتبدأ في إنتاج البيض. وهذه الندرة والهشاشة النسبية لبيضها تجعلان من الناحية الشديدة التكلفة ويصعب للغاية زراعتها في مياه غير بحر قزوين. إنه موطن لبحر قزوين. البيض كبيرة (3mm إلى 4mm) ، وتتراوح من الفضة شاحب إلى اللون الأسود.

ويوصف طعم الزبدة، لينة وحساسة. تقليديا، 000 الصف بيلوغا الكافيار هو أخف لون و0 هو الأكثر سواد، على الرغم من لون لا يملك حقا الكثير من تأثير على الذوق.

 

الكافيار الأسود

 

المصطلح السوفياتي العام لكافيار بحر قزوين، ولكن يشير أيضا إلى أي رو أسود. في الوقت الحاضر ، فإنه لا يعني أي نوع معين ، وهو مصطلح التسويق.

 

بليني أو BLIN

 

بليني هي فطائر صغيرة بالحنطة السوداء تعلوها الكافيار والسلمون المدخن وكريم فريش. في الأصل طبق روسي، يتم استخدام الحنطة السوداء لمطابقة نكهة الكافيار بحر قزوين على وجه التحديد. يمكن أن تخدم بأي شكل من الأشكال التي تريدها. مطوية ، تدحرجت ، أو تؤكل مثل canapes.

 

BOWFIN ROE

 

تسمى أيضا أسماك المستنقعات، والسمك الطيني، وسمك السلمون المرقط السرو، أو اسم كاجون "choupique"، وهو سمك يبلغ من العمر 180 مليون سنة. ومن المثير للاهتمام، لا يرتبط choupique إلى سمك الحفش على الإطلاق. أنها تختلف على مستوى فيلوم التنظيم، وأبعد شيءين يمكن أن يكون في المملكة الحيوانية.

 

كافيار بحر قزوين

 

يشير هذا المصطلح إلى الكافيار الذي تم حصاده من بحر قزوين، ومعظم بيلوغا، وأويسترا، وسيفروغا. إن بيلوغا، أوسيرترا وسيفروغا كلها أصلية حصراً في بحر قزوين. أي شيء يقال خلاف ذلك غير صحيح.

 

بحر قزوين

 

بحر قزوين هو بحر كبير من المياه المالحة بين روسيا وإيران. هو مصدر النهر الرئيسي هو نهر الفولغا وهو المصدر الرئيسي للكافيار الحفش. يمتد البحر العميق على مدى عدة مئات من الأمتار والتركيب المعدني للبحر يعزز نمو سمك الحفش الصحي. وهو موطن الكافيار وكان لأكثر من 4000 سنة.

تبلغ مساحة بحر قزوين 143244 ميلا مربعا ويحد روسيا وكازاخستان من الشمال وايران واذربيجان من الشرق. بحر قزوين هو واحد من أكبر البحار في العالم، أكبر بكثير من البحيرات الكبرى في الولايات المتحدة.

 

الكافيار

 

يستخدم الكافيار في الغالب للإشارة إلى بيض السمك الذي يتم حصاده من سمك الحفش ، على الرغم من أن المصطلح المستخدم لأنواع أخرى من البيض. تقليديا، يعني الكافيار البيض لحفش بيلوغا، أويسترا، وسيفروجا، على الرغم من الاستخدام الأخير قد وسعت التعريف ليشمل عددا من بيض السمك. في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة، فقط سمك الحفش رو يمكن أن يسمى "الكافيار" والبيض غير سمك الحفش يجب أن يكون المسمى شيئا آخر (سمك السلمون رو، رو السمك الأبيض، الخ). الفرس في نهاية المطاف انتقل الكافيار إلى بقية العالم. في الواقع، كلمة "الكافيار" تأتي من الكلمة الفارسية للبيض. الروس، ومع ذلك، تشير إلى جميع أنواع بيض السمك كما ikroj.

 

خبير الكافيار

 

شخص ذو مهارة عالية في معالجة الكافيار

 

يستشهد

 

اتفاقية الاتجار الدولي بأنواع الحيوانات والنباتات البرية المعرضة للانقراض هي معاهدة دولية أنشئت في عام 1973 لحماية الحياة البرية من الاستغلال المفرط ومنع التجارة الدولية من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض. وفي عام 2001، أوقفت اتفاقية الاتجار الدولي بأنواع الحيوانات والنباتات البرية المعرضة للانقراض تجارة الكافيار التي قامت بها أذربيجان وكازاخستان وروسيا وتركمانستان. وقد تصدرت الحظر المفروض على تصدير الكافيار في بحر قزوين من قبل الدول الروسية المطلة على بحر قزوين. ومع ذلك، كانت إيران البلد الوحيد الذي لم تحظره اتفاقية الاتجار الدولي بأنواع الحيوانات والنباتات البرية المعرضة للانقراض بسبب الاعتراف بها كزعيم في زراعة سمك الحفش المستدامة. وتعتبر اتفاقية الاتجار الدولي بأنواع الحيوانات والنباتات البرية المعرضة للانقراض أن إيران تمارس حفظاً فعالاً لمصائد الأسماك فيها وحفظها.

 

كريمي فريش

 

كريم سميكة مثقفة تشبه في الذوق والاتساق إلى القشدة الحامضة. مصطلح "كريم fraiche" هو الفرنسي ل "كريم الطازجة". وعادة ما تباع غير مبستر في فرنسا، على الرغم من أن القوانين الأمريكية تتطلب أن تكون مبستر قبل البيع. عندما لا يتوفر كريم فريش، كريم حامض يجعل بديل مناسب.

 

الكافيار المستزرع

 

مصطلح منفصل للكافيار المستزرع

 

الكافيار المستزرع

 

اسم آخر للكافيار المستزرع. من المهم أن تكون على علم بأن ليس كل مزارع الكافيار متساوية. مزارع الكافيار في إيران تستخدم مياه البحر الطبيعية من بحر قزوين. لا يمكن للمزارع في أوروبا الوصول إلى بحر قزوين واستخدام المياه الاصطناعية لتربية سمك الحفش.

 

نكهه

 

يتأثر طعم معظم المنتجات الحيوانية بشكل كبير بالطابع الكيميائي لبي منها والطعام الذي تأكله. أي العشب للماشية، والمياه للمحار، والأسماك الغذائية تأكل. يعتمد طعم الكافيار الحفش على أنواع الأسماك التي يتناولونها.

سمك المجداف هي مغذيات التصفية التي تعمل في المقام الأول على الجمبري الصغير الطحالب، والعوالق الحيوانية قبالة سطح الماء. المياه القذرة يؤدي إلى طعم "موحل" أو "بركة" في الكافيار ويعتقد بعض علماء الأحياء المائية الطحالب في البرك الاصطناعية جعل طعم الكافيار الحفش قبالة، وهذا مشكلة خاصة في المزارع الأوروبية.

يتم زراعة بعض سمك الحفش عمدا في مياه درجة حرارة أعلى لتحفيز نمو الطحالب. كمية أكبر من المواد الغذائية يمكن أن تقلل من أوقات التكاثر سمك الحفش من 12 سنة إلى 8 سنوات. تحاول بعض المزارع "تطهير" نكهة الطحالب من سمك الحفش من خلال إبقائها معزولة في خزان مياه نظيف لبضعة أيام أو أسابيع قبل البيع.

 

الكافيار الطازج

 

على عكس الكافيار المبستر أو المجمد سابقا

 

جولدن كافيار

 

كافيار الحفش من الظل الذهبي الطبيعي النادر. ويزعم أن يأتي في الغالب من الحفش الفارسي أو sterlet. تم حفظ الكافيار الذهبي حصرا ل تزار أو شاه.

 

جولدن أوسيرترا الكافيار

 

رو أصفر من أندر وأكثر نضجا Osetra الحفش الأصلي إلى بحر قزوين. اللون الذهبي هو المطلوب للغاية من قبل المستهلكين لحبوبها الذهبية شركة ولها نكهة ترابي جوزي. لأنه نادر جدا، كما أنها مكلفة للغاية. من السهل جدًا الخلط بين الكافيار الذهبي أوسيترا مع ألماس الكافيار، على الرغم من أن هذا الأخير أكثر ندرة وتكلفة.

 

IKROJ

 

إيكروج (EEK-ruh) هي الكلمة الروسية للرو والكافيار من أي نوع.

 

ايكورا

 

البديل الياباني من ikroj الروسية. وعادة ما يستخدم للإشارة إلى الكافيار سمك السلمون على وجه التحديد في المطاعم اليابانية. الطهاة اليابانية أيضا استخدام كابلين رو (ماساغو) ورو السمك الطائر (tobiko).

 

إمبريال كافيار

 

تستخدم في بعض الأحيان للإشارة إلى الكافيار أوسيرا الذهبي. "الإمبراطورية" لأن اللون الذهبي لديه ميل من الملوك.

 

الكافيار الإيراني

 

الكافيار الذي يتم حصاده من إيران هو في الغالب من نوع بيلوغا أوسيترا أو سيفروجا. غالبية إنتاج الكافيار يتم في جنوب بحر قزوين حيث المياه أنظف وأروع. ويعتبر كل من الكافيار الإيراني والروسي خيرة في العالم، والوضع الحالي المهدد بالانقراض من معظم أنواع سمك الحفش جعل أصنافها من الكافيار حتى أكثر فخامة.

 

الـ(رو) من (الـ(رو

 

رو مصنوعة من سمك الـ(لامبك) شمال الأطلسي وينتج هذا الرو في الغالب في أيسلندا. البيض الصغير من الصعب ومقدد وتتراوح في اللون من الأسود إلى الأصفر المحمر. لونه يميل إلى النزف في المواد الغذائية الأخرى التي يتم طهيها مع، ولكن رخيصة ومتاحة بسهولة.

 

مالوس

 

"Malossol" هو المصطلح الروسي ل "القليل من الملح" ويشير إلى طريقة ملوحة الكافيار الدقيق.  عادة، وأقل الملح المطلوبة، والكافيار أدق. مالوسول هو أقل من 3.5٪ الملح من حيث الوزن وما يصل إلى 10٪ للملح المالح المالح التجارية. يساعد الملح على الحفاظ على نضارة ويعزز نكهة.

 

الكافيار العضوي

 

حاليا، مزرعة الكافيار العضوية الوحيدة في العالم هي الكافيار من إيران. الكافيار استخدام المياه الطبيعية بحر قزوين وهو 100٪ العضوية لأنها لا تشمل أي هرمونات لتسريع نمو الأسماك. يتم الاحتفاظ الأسماك في الأقلام مع مياه بحر قزوين العذبة، ويتم إعطاء درجة عالية بسبب عملية تربية تسيطر عليها، والبيئة المعيشية النظيفة، والجودة الشاملة.

 

أوسيرترا أو أوسسيترا كافيار

 

وOsetra الحفش(Acipenser gueldenstaedtii)هي الأسماك المهاجرة التي هي مواطن في بحر قزوين. سمك الحفش متوسطة الحجم يزن ما يصل إلى 440 جنيه وقياس حوالي 6-7 أقدام. تحتاج الإناث إلى 12-15 سنة للنضج وإنتاج البيض. تمت التمتع Osetra كسمكة مأدبة في العصور الوسطى ، يتمتع بها النبلاء لنكهة جوزي وخفيفة. الكلمة الفعلية "osetra" هي نقل للكلمة الروسية ل "الحفش". وتشمل هجاء أخرى asetra, osietra, و ascietra. كلمة "osetra" في وقت واحد أشار إلى جميع أنواع الكافيار الحفش الإيراني، على الرغم من أن هذا المصطلح يستخدم في الوقت الحاضر للإشارة إلى الكافيار من Acipenser baerii baerii. أوسيترا لديه نسيج حريري الذي هو أكثر زيتا أن كافيار بيلوغا. يتم حصاد الكافيار البري أوسيرا في الغالب في روسيا وإيران، على الرغم من أنه تم إجراء محاولات لزراعة في أماكن أخرى. بيضها من الأصفر الذهبي إلى البني في اللون وحوالي 3mm في القطر.

في العهد السوفياتي، يتم تعبئتها أوسيرترا من بحر قزوين مع غطاء أصفر.

 

الكافيار المبستر

 

الكافيار الذي هو البخار في درجة حرارة عالية لتعقيمه وإزالة البكتيريا الضارة. البسترة يطبخ قليلا الكافيار والتغيرات هي صلابة. عادة ما يتم تخزين الكافيار في 28 إلى 32 درجة فهرنهايت ويمكن تخزينها لأسابيع إذا تم تخزينها بشكل صحيح. بمجرد فتحه، يجب أن تؤكل في غضون 2 إلى 3 أيام.

 

اللؤلؤ

 

ويسمى بيض الكافيار اللؤلؤ

 

الكافيار الفارسي

 

الكافيار من إيران، المعروف سابقاً باسم بلاد فارس.

 

الحفش الفارسي

 

Acipenser persicus هو سمك الحفش الأصلي إلى بلاد فارس. وتوجد في بحر قزوين.

 

الكافيار الرجل الفقير

 

مصطلح آخر لر roe سمك السلمون، رو السمكة. لا يحتوي في الواقع الكافيار.

 

ضغط الكافيار

 

تسمى أحيانا payusnaya أو pajusnaya، والبيض التي يتم كسرها أثناء عملية النخل مصنوعة في الكافيار الضغط. الكافيار الضغط يختلف كثيرا عن الكافيار العادي; هو أكثر زيتية بكثير، أكثر ملوحة، وأكثر لاذع. عندما يتم تنظيف البيض، يتم تعبئتها معا وتجفيفها في كيس الكتان. بعد ذلك، يتم الضغط عليها في عجينة التي يمكن أن تنتشر. يتم تناوله شعبيا على الخبز المحمص مع البطاطا الساخنة أو بمثابة مكعبات على المسواك. حوالي 3 جنيه من رو إنتاج رطل واحد من الكافيار الضغط.

 

الكافيار الحقيقي

 

الكافيار معالجتها من الأسماك من عائلة سمك الحفش.

 

رو

 

رو هو اسم لأي نوع من البيض السمك، وتسمى أيضا التوت، اللؤلؤ، والحبوب

 

الكافيار الروسي

 

اسم الكافيار الذي يتم حصاده في روسيا لأي نوع من سمك الحفش. "الكافيار الروسي" يشير في الغالب إلى الكافيار بحر قزوين من سمك الحفش بيلوغا وأويسترا وسيفروجا. ومن المؤسف أن كل من هذه الأسماك مدرج حالياً على أنه نوع من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض ولا يُسمح باستيراده في بلدان أخرى.

 

سمك السلمون رو

 

اسم سمك السلمون رو. إنه مشرق، شفاف، وله لون أحمر برتقالي مشرق. ويشار عادة إلى البيض كما اللؤلؤ وأكثر عصيرا بكثير وأكثر ملوحة من الكافيار الأخرى. ومن شعبية في الأطباق اليابانية حيث أنه يعرف باسم ikura

 

سيفروجا كافيار

 

وSevruga هو أصغر من سمك الحفش بحر قزوين و33 أغلى الكافيار بعد بيلوغا وأويسترا. انها تنمو فقط حوالي 7 أقدام والوزن 175 جنيه، أقل بكثير من بيلوجا على سبيل المثال. يتغذى في الغالب على العوالق والطحالب. البيض أصغر (2.5mm) ولها اللون الرمادي المخضر = إلى اللون الرمادي الصلب.

Sevruga لديه أقوى نكهة وملمس مقدمش من الكافيار قزوين. في الآونة الأخيرة، وقد اشتعلت سعر الكافيار سيفروجا تصل إلى أسعار أوسيرترا بسبب نقص في الكافيار بيلوغا.

 

تَرَكّر الـ "

 

تقنية الطبخ تهدف إلى خلق الكافيار لذيذ من الفواكه والخضروات. كان رائدا من قبل تذوق الطعام فيران أدريا. إنها عملية أخذ سائل لذيذ وإحاطته ببشرة كروية. يضاف أولاً الصوديوم ألجينات لإزالة أي فقاعات ثم يضاف السائل إلى المياه المعالجة التي تشكل المجالات. يمكنك استخدام هذه العملية لإنشاء الكافيار مع أنواع كثيرة من ملامح نكهة.

 

سبونبيل ستورجون

 

انظر سمك الحفش مجداف

 

ستيرلتيستا الحفش

 

انقرضت إلى حد كبير في بحر قزوين ولكن لا تزال تزرع في أمريكا، والحفش ستيرليه تستخدم لتوريد ما يسمى الكافيار الامبراطوري للعائلة المالكة في إيران. وكثيرا ما تذكر الكتابات التاريخية الطبق الحاضر في المآدب والأعياد. وSterlet يشبه سمك الحفش Sevruga ولكن أصغر, تتراوح فقط حول 4 أقدام طويلة ووزنها 55 جنيه. ونادرا ما وجدت في البرية في الوقت الحاضر.

 

التصاق

 

التصاق مفرط بين البيض المجهز مما يؤدي إلى كتل

 

سمك الحفش

 

سمك الحفش هو أسماك مهاجرة كبيرة مع حوالي 26 نوعا وجدت في جميع أنحاء العالم. تم العثور على سمك الحفش الأكثر شهرة وتكلفة في بحر قزوين وتشمل بيلوغا، أويسترا، وسيفروغا الحفش. إنها سمكة قديمة عاشت في المحيطات لأكثر من 250 مليون سنة؛ وهي تعيش في المحيطات منذ أكثر من 250 مليون سنة؛ وهي تعيش في المحيطات منذ أكثر من 250 مليون سنة؛ وهي تعيش في المحيطات منذ أكثر من 250 مليون سنة؛ وهي تعيش في المحيطات منذ في نفس الوقت الذي الديناصورات. على الرغم من أن الأسماك في المياه المالحة في المقام الأول، سوف تهاجر الحفش إلى المياه العذبة لوضع بيضها. هناك يتم القبض عليهم للحصاد. جنبا إلى جنب مع رو الطبقة، وأشاد أيضا لحوم سمك الحفش لجوده.

الحفش تنتمي إلى Acipenseridaeالأسرة ، والنظام من الأسماك البدائية راي الزعانف. داخل الأسرة اثنين من أجناس، Acipenser (أوسيرترا، سيفروجا، سيبيريا، والحفش الأبيض) وهوسو (بيلوغا).

 

الحفش الكافيار

 

رو سمك الحفش. الكافيار سمك الحفش هو من بين أفضل الكافيار في العالم ويشتهر العالم حولها لنكهة غنية والملمس.

 

الكافيار المستدام

 

الكافيار الذي يزرع بطريقة مستدامة تهدف إلى الحفاظ على الموارد. يجب أن يستخدم الكافيار المستدام المياه الطبيعية من الموئل الأصلي للأنواع.

 

الكافيار غير المملح

 

يتعلق بالطعم النهائي

اللزوجه

 

يتعلق البيض السائل الداخلية.

000 أو الثلاثي صفر الكافيار

 

000 يشير إلى تلوين الكافيار. على المقياس العادي، تصنيف 000 يشير إلى أخف الكافيار الذي له لون رمادي فضي. 00 هو رمادي متوسط بينما 0 أسود. على الرغم من أن اللون نادرا ما يكون له علاقة كبيرة مع الذوق، والأصناف أخف من الكافيار عادة ما تكون أكثر تكلفة وثمنا من الكافيار أغمق. ويعتقد، على الرغم من عدم تأكيد علميا، أن أصغر سمك الحفش هو، أخف البيض المنتجة تميل إلى أن تكون. في حالة وحيدة من سمك الحفش أويسترا، البيض أخف تميل إلى أن تأتي من العينات القديمة.

Caviar Glossary

ACIPENSERIDAE

This taxonomical family includes around 26 species of fish, including the genera Acipenser (Atlantic, Baerii, Lake, Osetra, Sevruga, Siberian, White and other sturgeon) Huso (Beluga and Keluga sturgeon), Scaphirhynchus (Alabama, Pallid and Shovelnose [Hackleback] sturgeons, all native to North America) and Pseudoscaphirhynchus (three species in West Central Asia, including Syr-darya Shovelnose, Amu-dar Shovelnose and False Shovelnose sturgeons).

ALGAE

See flavour

ALMAS CAVIAR

The rarest and most expensive caviar in the world. The word “almas” means “diamond” in Persian. This particular caviar comes from albino sturgeons albino Osetra sturgeons that are over 70 years old. This means it is very rare to encounter and a once-in-a-lifetime treat. The older the fish, the creamier and subtle the flavor of the eggs are. A single kilo of Almas caviar is worth $44,000, more expensive than gold, according to the Guinness Book of World Records

ANADROMOUS

An anadromous fish is a saltwater fish that moves to freshwater to spawn. The Caspian sturgeon is a anadromous fish and was almost made extinct by dams of the rivers leading to the Caspian Sea, keeping the sturgeon from the spawning grounds.

AQUACULTURE

The farming of fish. Can be performed indoors or outdoors or in penned sections of rivers.

ARTIFICIAL CAVIAR

Caviar that has been grown in a farm that does not use the natural waters of the sturgeon’s native habitat.

ASETRA or GOLDEN IRANIAN ASETRA CAVIAR

Golden Iranian Asetra (Iranian Osetra) is from the Caspian Sea bordering Iran. The Iranian Asetra has a complex and sophisticated flavor that ranges in color from dark to light grey. It is the 2nd most expensive caviar after the Iranian Beluga. The name “Golden Iranian” comes from the golden hue. The caviar is very rare due to the pristine environment along the Iranian coastline, which has very clean soil and air.

BAERII CAVIAR & STURGEON

The Siberian sturgeon swims in Iran, Russia, Kazakhstan and, to a smaller extent, in China. The Baerii sturgeon is on the WWF’s endangered species list due to overfishing. Baerii is sometimes misleadingly marketed as Osetra, though it is not. Baerii caviar can be harvested from 6 to 9 years of age while Osetra takes 12-15 years. The Baerii is significantly smaller than the Osetra sturgeon but reproduces much quicker.

BELIAK (HISTORICAL)

Mature female sturgeon.

BELUGA CAVIAR

The whit Beluga (Huso huso) is the largest species of sturgeon and grows up to 30 feet long and weigh up to a whopping 3.300 pounds. The Beluga eats smaller fish and roe makes up about 15% of its body weight. Beluga caviar is rare as it takes 18 to 30 years for a female to mature and start producing eggs. This scarcity and relative fragility of its eggs make it very expensive and extremely difficult to farm with non-Caspian Sea waters. It is native to the Caspian Sea. The eggs are large (3mm to 4mm)and range from pale silver to black in color.

The taste is described as buttery, soft and delicate. Traditionally, 000 grade Beluga caviar is the lightest color and 0 is the blackest, though color does not really have much of an effect on taste.

BLACK CAVIAR

The generic Soviet term for Caspian caviar, but also refers to any black roe. Nowadays, it does not connote any specific species and is a marketing term.

BLINI or BLIN

Blini are small buckwheat pancakes topped with caviar, smoked salmon and creme fraiche. Originally a Russian dish, the buckwheat is used to specifically match the flavor of Caspian caviar. It can be served any way you like; folded, rolled, or eaten like canapes.

BOWFIN ROE

Also called the swamp fish, mudfish, cypress trout, or the Cajun name “choupique”, the bowfin is a 180 million-year-old fish. Interestingly, the choupique is not related to the sturgeon at all. They diverge at the phylum level of organization, the furthest away two things can be in the animal kingdom.

CASPIAN CAVIAR

This term refers to caviar harvested from the Caspian Sea, most Beluga, Osetra, and Sevruga. The Beluga, Osetra and Sevruga are all exclusively native to the Caspian Sea. Anything said otherwise is untrue.

CASPIAN SEA

The Caspian Sea is a large saltwater sea between Russia and Iran. it major river source is the river Volga and is the major source of sturgeon caviar. The deep sea extends over several hundred meters and the mineral composition of the sea promotes healthy sturgeon growth. It is the home of caviar and has been for over 4000 years.

The Caspian sea has a area of 143,244 square miles and borders Russian and Kazakhstan from the north and Iran and Azerbaijan on the east. The Caspian Sea is one of the largest seas in the world, much larger than the Great Lakes in the U.S.

CAVIAR

Caviar is mostly used to refer to fish eggs harvested from sturgeon, though the term in used for other species of eggs. Traditionally, caviar has meant eggs for the Beluga, Osetra, and Sevruga sturgeons, though recent use has expanded the definition to include a number of fish eggs. In the U.S. Europe and the UK, only sturgeon roe can be called “caviar” and non-sturgeon eggs must be labeled something else (salmon roe, whitefish roe, etc). The Persians eventually transmitted spread caviar to the rest of the world. In fact, the word “caviar” comes from the Persian word for egg. Russians, however, refer to all kinds of fish eggs as ikroj.

CAVIAR EXPERT

A person highly skilled in processing caviar

CITES

CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species) is an international treaty created in 1973 meant to protect wildlife from over-exploitation and to prevent international trade form endangered species. In 2001, CITES halted the caviar trade by Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russia, and Turkmenistan. It spearheaded the ban on exporting Caspian caviar by Russian states bordering the Caspian Sea. Iran, however, was the only country not banned by CITES due to having been recognized as a leader in sustainable sturgeon farming. Iran is considered by CITES to practice effective conservation and policing of its fisheries.

CREME FRAICHE

Cultured thickened cream that is similar in taste and consistency to sour cream. The term “creme fraiche” is French for “fresh cream.” It is typically sold unpasteurized in France, though U.S. laws require it be pasteurized before selling. When creme fraiche is not available, sour cream makes a suitable replacement.

CULTURED CAVIAR

A separate term for farmed caviar

FARMED CAVIAR

Another name for cultured caviar. It is important to be aware that not all caviar farms are equal. Caviar farms in Iran use natural sea waters from the Caspian Sea. Farms in Europe do not have access to the Caspian Sea and use artificial waters for sturgeon breeding.

FLAVOR

The taste of most animal products is highly influenced by the chemical character of their environment and the food they eat; i.e. grass for cattle, water for oysters, and the food fish eat. The taste of sturgeon caviar depends on the kinds of fish they eat.

Paddlefish are filter feeders that subsist primarily on algae small shrimp, and zooplankton off the water’s surface. Dirty water leads to a “muddy” or “pondy” taste in caviar and some aquaculturists believe algae in artificial ponds make sturgeon caviar taste off, this particularly a problem in European farms.

Some sturgeon are deliberately farmed in higher temperature waters to stimulate the growth of algae. The greater amount of food can reduce sturgeon reproduction times from 12 years to 8 years. Some farms attempt to “purge” the algae flavor from sturgeon by keeping them isolated in a clean water tank for a few days or weeks before selling.

FRESH CAVIAR

As opposed to pasteurized or previously frozen caviar

GOLDEN CAVIAR

Sturgeon caviar of rare natural goldish shade. It is claimed to come mostly from Persian sturgeon or sterlet. Golden caviar was saved exclusively for the Tzar or Shah.

GOLDEN OSETRA CAVIAR

Yellow roe from the rarest and most mature Osetra sturgeons native to the Caspian Sea. The golden color is highly desired by consumers for its firm golden grain and has a nutty earthy flavor. Because it is so rare, it is also very expensive. Golden Osetra caviar is very easy to confuse with Almas Caviar, though the latter is much rarer and expensive.

IKROJ

Ikroj (EEK-ruh) is the Russian word for roe and caviar of any kind.

IKURA

The Japanese variant of the Russian ikroj. It is normally used to refer to specifically salmon caviar in Japanese restaurants. Japanese chefs also use capelin roe (masago) and flying fish roe (tobiko).

IMPERIAL CAVIAR

Sometimes used to refer to golden osetra caviar. “Imperial” because the gold color has a flair of royalty.

IRANIAN CAVIAR

Caviar harvested from Iran is mostly of the Beluga, Osetra, or Sevruga variety. The majority of caviar production takes place in the south of the Caspian Sea where the water is cleanest and coolest. Both Iranian and Russian caviar are considered the finest in the world, and the current endangered status of most kinds of sturgeon make their varieties of caviar even more luxurious.

LUMPFISH ROE

Roe made from the north Atlantic Lumpfish. This roe is mostly produced in Iceland. The small eggs are hard and crunchy and range in color from black to a reddish yellow. Its color tends to bleed into other food items it is cooked with, but it is cheap and readily available.

MALOSSOL

“Malossol” is the Russian term for “little salt” and refers to the method of salting fine caviar.  Typically, the less salt required, the finer the caviar. Malossol is as little as 3.5% salt by weight and up to 10% for commercial barreled salt. The salt helps preserve freshness and enhances flavor.

ORGANIC CAVIAR

Currently, the only organic caviar farm in the world is caviar from Iran. The caviar use natural Caspian Sea waters and is 100% organic as they do not include any hormones to speed up the growth of fish. The fish are kept in pens with fresh Caspian Sea water and are given a high grade due to the controlled breeding process, clean living environment, and overall quality.

OSETRA or OSCIETRA CAVIAR

The Osetra Sturgeon (Acipenser gueldenstaedtii) is a migratory fish that is native to the Caspian Sea. The medium-sized sturgeon weighs up to 440 pounds and measure about 6-7 feet. Females require 12-15 years to mature and produce eggs. The Osetra was enjoyed as a banquet fish in the Middle Ages, enjoyed by nobility for its nutty and light flavor. The actual word “osetra” is a transliteration of the Russian word for “sturgeon.” Other spellings include asetra, osietra, and ascietra. The word “osetra” at one time referred to all kinds of Iranian sturgeon caviar, though the term is used nowadays to refer to caviar from Acipenser baerii baerii. Osetra has a silky texture that is oilier that Beluga caviar. Wild osetra caviar is mostly harvested in Russian and Iran, though attempts have been made for it to be farmed in other places. Their eggs are golden yellow to brown in color and are about 3mm in diameter.

In Soviet Times, Osetra from the Caspian sea is packaged with a yellow lid.

PASTEURIZED CAVIAR

Caviar that is steam at a high temperature to sterilize it and remove and harmful bacteria. Pasteurization slightly cooks the caviar and changes is hardness. Caviar is typically stored at 28 to 32 degrees Fahrenheit and can be stored for weeks if stored properly. Once opened, it should be eaten within 2 to 3 days.

PEARLS

Caviar eggs are called pearls

PERSIAN CAVIAR

Caviar from Iran, formerly known as Persia.

PERSIAN STURGEON

Acipenser persicus is a sturgeon native to Persia. It is found in the Caspian Sea.

POOR MAN’S CAVIAR

Another term for salmon roe, lumpfish roe. Does not actually contain caviar.

PRESSED CAVIAR

Sometimes called payusnaya or pajusnaya, eggs that are broke during the sieving process are made into pressed caviar. Pressed caviar is very different from normal caviar; it is much oilier, saltier, and more pungent. When the eggs are cleaned, they are packaged together and drained in a linen bag. Afterward, they are pressed into a paste that can be spread. It is popularly eaten on toast with hot potatoes or served as cubes on toothpicks. About 3 pounds of roe produce one pound of pressed caviar.

REAL CAVIAR

Caviar processed from fish of the sturgeon family.

ROE

Roe is the name for any kind of fish egg, also called berries, pearls, and grains

RUSSIAN CAVIAR

The name for caviar harvested in Russia for any species of sturgeon. “Russian caviar” mostly refers to Caspian caviars from the Beluga, Osetra, and Sevruga sturgeons. Unfortunately, each of these fish is currently listed as an endangered species and are not allowed to be imported in other countries.

SALMON ROE

The name for salmon roe. It is bright, translucent, and has a bright red-orange color. The eggs are commonly referred to as pearls and are much juicier and saltier than other caviars. It is popular in Japanese dishes where it is known as ikura

SEVRUGA CAVIAR

The Sevruga is the smallest of the Caspian sturgeons and 3rd most expensive caviar after the Beluga and Osetra. It only grows about 7 feet and weight 175 pounds, much less than the Beluga for instance. It mostly feeds on plankton and algae. The eggs are smaller (2.5mm) and have a greenish=gray to steel gray color.

Sevruga has the strongest flavor and crunchiest texture of Caspian caviars. Recently, Sevruga caviar price has caught up to Osetra prices due to shortages in Beluga caviar.

SPHERIFICATION

A cooking technique meant to creat delicious caviar from fruits and vegetables. It was pioneered by gastronomer Ferran Adria. It is the process of taking a flavorful liquid and enclosing it in a spherical skin. Sodium alginate is first added to remove any bubbles then the liquid is added to treated water which forms the spheres. You can use this process to create caviars with many kinds of flavor profiles.

SPOONBILL STURGEON

See paddlefish sturgeon

STERLETA STURGEON

Largely extinct in the Caspian but still farmed in America, the sterlet sturgeon used to supply what is called Imperial caviar to Iran’s royal family. Historical writings frequently mention the dish present at banquets and feasts. The Sterlet is similar to the Sevruga sturgeon but smaller, only ranging about 4 feet long and weighing 55 pounds. It is rarely found in the wild nowadays.

STICKINESS

Excessive adhesion between processed eggs which results in lumps

STURGEON

Sturgeon are large migratory fish with about 26 species found worldwide. The most famous and expensive sturgeon are found in the Caspian Sea and include Beluga, Osetra, and Sevruga sturgeon. It is an old fish that has lived in the oceans for over 250 million years; at the same time as the dinosaurs. Although primarily a saltwater fish, sturgeon will migrate to fresh water to lay their eggs. It is there that they are caught for harvesting. Along with tier roe, sturgeon meat is also praised for its quality.

Sturgeon belong to the family Acipenseridae, and order of primitive ray-finned fish. Within the family are two genera, Acipenser (Osetra, Sevruga, Siberian, and White sturgeon) and Huso (Beluga).

STURGEON CAVIAR

The roe of sturgeons. Sturgeon caviar is among the finest caviar in the world and is famed the world around for its rich flavor and texture.

SUSTAINABLE CAVIAR

Caviar that is farmed in a sustainable manner meant to preserve resources. Sustainable caviar must use natural waters from the native habitat of the species.

UNDERSALTED CAVIAR

Relates to final taste

VISCOSITY

Relates to egg interior liquid.

000 or TRIPLE ZERO CAVIAR

000 refers to the coloring of caviar. On the normal scale, a rating of 000 refers to the lightest caviar which has a silvery-gray color. 00 is a medium gray while 0 is black. Although color rarely has much to do with taste, the lighter varieties of caviar are normally more expensive and prized than darker caviars. It is believed, though not scientifically confirmed, that the younger a sturgeon is, the lighter its produced eggs tend to be. In the lone case of the Osetra sturgeon, lighter eggs tend to come from older specimens.