لاحظت صحيفة فاينانشال تايمز أن "... واحدة من أفضل جداً..." صورة / svg + xml

التاريخ القديم للكافيار

الفترة القديمة

قبل أن يأتي البشر إلى حيز الوجود، كان هناك بالفعل العديد من الكائنات الحية التي تهيمن على الأرض لملايين السنين. وقد كانت الكائنات البحرية مثل أسماك القرش في عدد كبير قبل حوالي 400 مليون سنة خلال الفترة الديفونية، حيث كانت الأسماك متنوعة بالفعل.

أعطى تطور إلى عائلة من الأسماك العظمية تسمى Acipenseridae، والآن الأكثر شيوعا المعروفة باسم سمك الحفش. ظهرت الحفش لأول مرة قبل حوالي 150 مليون سنة خلال العصر الطباشيري. وهذا يجعل عائلة سمك الحفش واحدة من أقدم عائلات الأسماك العظمية التي لا تزال على قيد الحياة اليوم. في المظهر ، تبدو سمك الحفش فريدة من نوعها من خلال وجود خمسة صفوف من اللوحات العظمية تسمى scutes تشكلت حول أجسامهم. هذه التشكوكات توفر حماية إضافية ضد الحيوانات المفترسة.

لإعطاء فكرة عن عمر عائلة سمك الحفش ، فمن الأفضل مقارنتها مع نوع آخر موجود أيضًا حتى اليوم. تشير اكتشافات العظام الشائعة للإنسان العاقل (البشر في العصر الحديث) إلى أن أسلاف الإنسان ظهروا قبل 40,000 سنة فقط. ومع ذلك، هناك نتائج أخرى يعود تاريخها إلى حوالي 100،000 إلى 200،000 سنة مضت. هذه السنوات المسجلة من المظهر البشري تجعل سمك الحفش تقريبا مثل الحفريات الحية لوجودها لمدة 150 مليون سنة مضت.

التاريخ القديم للكافيار

بعد العصر الطباشيري، نجا سمك الحفش من بضع فترات أخرى حيث أصبحت الثدييات البرية وفيرة. اليوم، تم العثور على معظم أنواع سمك الحفش في نصف الكرة الشمالي.

تعيش أسماك الحفش لفترة أطول من معظم الأسماك الأخرى، حيث أن الأنثى لها عمر أطول من عمر الذكر. ومع ذلك، سمك الحفش تفرخ للمرة الأولى بعد أن تنضج، حوالي 6 إلى 15 سنة وهو طويل جدا.

ومن المعروف أن بعض أنواع الحفش هي من التكاثر، مما يعني أنها تهاجر إلى المياه العذبة لغرض وحيد هو التفريخ. ويمكن أن تكون هذه المرحلة حاسمة بالنسبة لحياة سمك الحفش لأنه عادة ما يتكاثر على المياه العذبة الضحلة، مما يجعلها عرضة للصيادين. كما ذكر من قبل، سمك الحفش لديه سكتات حامية من الحيوانات المفترسة، ولكن هذه النقوش يمكن أن تُمسك في شباك الصيادين ويمكن أن تؤدي إلى القبض على سمك الحفش.

الوقت الحالي

وفي الوقت الحاضر، كان هناك عاملان رئيسيان في الآونة الأخيرة يؤديان إلى انخفاض عدد سمك الحفش في أوائل التسعينات. الأول هو تلوث المياه الناجم عن النفايات التي تنتجها المصانع القريبة من المسطحات المائية، والثاني هو الصيد الجائر. غير أن هذه المسألة تحسنت تحسناً كبيراً بفضل اتفاقية الاتجار الدولي بالأنواع المهددة بالانقراض، مما أدى إلى زيادة تدريجية في سمك الحفش في بحر قزوين.

الأغلبية الساحقة (80-95%) من سمك الحفش اشتعلت اليوم تأتي من بحر قزوين. وقد بدأ هذا يحدث عندما أدت الأنشطة الجيولوجية إلى حركة الكتل البرية للحزام البحري للبحر الأبيض المتوسط والبحر الأسود وبحر قزوين بعيدا عن بعضها البعض، مما أدى إلى إنتاج أربع هيئات من المياه. تسمى المسطحات المائية التي تشكلت حديثاً باسم بحر قزوين والأسود وأزوف وبحر الآرال.

وصلت سمك الحفش إلى المسطحات المائية الأربعة المذكورة من البحر الأبيض المتوسط. لسوء الحظ، لم توفر كل هذه المسطحات المائية موئلاً جيداً لحفش الحفش. ولوحظ أن مستوى المياه في بحر آرال ينخفض في المعدلات السريعة، مما يجعل المياه المتبقية أكثر تركيزا من الأملاح التي أدت في نهاية المطاف إلى انخفاض عدد سمك الحفش. وكان استنفاد مياه بحر آرال بسبب نظام الري في مزرعة قطن قريبة.

تاريخ الكافيار

بحر قزوين

ومن بين المسطحات المائية الأربعة التي ذهب إليها سمك الحفش، وفر بحر قزوين أفضل الموئل حتى يومنا هذا.

الجدول 1- الانبعاثات 1000 تسجيل المصيد سمك الحفش
(سنون مختارة 1885-1908)
جسم الماء أنواع سمك الحفش الصيد سنويا
(طن متري)
بحر قزوين وروافده بيلوغا 15,000
بحر قزوين وروافده أوسيرترا 25,000
بحر قزوين وروافده جميع الأنواع 45,000
بحر آزوف وروافده جميع الأنواع 6,500
الانهار
امور كالوغا وأمور 100
الأنهار السيبيرية سيبيريا 1,300
هدسون الاطلسي 2,500
ديلاوير الاطلسي 2,300
الأنهار الساحلية الشرقية جميع الأنواع 3,300
فريزر أبيض 500
كولومبيا أبيض 2,500
حوض المسيسيبي سمك الـ(جرافينوز) و(مجداف) 1,000
البحيرات
ايري بحيره 2,300
هورون بحيره 500
بحيرة من الغابة بحيره 500
ميشيغان بحيره 300
اونتاريو بحيره 300
متفوقه بحيره 300
سانت كلير بحيره 300

ويبين الجدول 1 أعلاه بوضوح أنه في السنة 1885 إلى 1908، كان بحر قزوين مصدرا لمعظم المصيد من سمك الحفش.

قد تعرف أن بحر قزوين هو أكبر هيئة في الداخل في العالم. بل هو أيضا جسم ماجاجة من الماء مما يعني أنه يحتوي على المياه المالحة قليلا. يبلغ طول بحر قزوين 400 ألف كيلومتر مربع، ويمتد لمسافة 1200 كيلومتر وعرضه من 200 إلى 560 كيلومتراً، وكان موطناً للعديد من الأنواع، ولا سيما سمك الحفش.

بحر قزوين محاط بمعظمه من الدول الآسيوية - أذربيجان في الغرب، وإيران في الجنوب، وتركمانستان في الجنوب الشرقي، وكازاخستان وروسيا في الشمال الشرقي والشمال الغربي على التوالي.

تاريخ الكافيار

تهديدات من بحر قزوين

معظم مياه بحر قزوين تأتي من نهر الفولغا من روسيا، مما يساهم في حوالي 60٪.  تشكل المياه من الأنهار الأخرى وتساقط الأمطار النسبة المتبقية. وبما أن بحر قزوين غير ساحلي، فمن الجيد أن نفهم أنه لا يوجد فيه تدفق طبيعي للمياه إلى الخارج باستثناء التبخر والأنشطة التي تُخرج منه المياه. وهذا هو السبب في أن ملوحة بحر قزوين لا تتجاوز 12 إلى 13 جزءا في الألف مقارنة ببحر قزوين الذي يبلغ حوالي 36 جزءا من المحيط.

وكما ذكر من قبل، فإن المنطقة الجنوبية من بحر قزوين تقع بالقرب من إيران. وهذا أقل تلوثا لأن التلال المغمورة بالمياه تفصلها عن الأجزاء الأخرى من البحر المذكور. أيضا، فإنه يذهب إلى عمق 900 متر.

الجدول 2- المصيد من سمك الحفش في العالم
1986-1990 (طن متري)
1986 1987 1988 1989 1990
إيران 21,817 25991 29027 36880 45056
روسيا 1,690 1759 1851 2051 2020
تركمانستان 546 519 314 232 277
أذربيجان 56 50 53 91 41
كازاخستان 31 32 18 19 4
الاخرين 55 40 28 45 274
مجموع 24,195 28,391 31,291 39,318 47,672

وكما يتبين من الجدول 2 المقدم أعلاه، فإن إيران كانت إلى حد بعيد صاحبة أعلى كميات المصيد من سمك الحفش في عام 1986 حتى عام 1990.

تاريخ الكافيار

إيران تقود سوق الكافيار

وبصرف النظر عن الاتحاد السوفياتي، كانت إيران تحتفظ دائما بكمية كبيرة من صيد سمك الحفش من السنوات المبينة في الجدول 2.

كان هناك سبب وراء أن استهلاك الكافيار الإيراني يأتي في المرتبة الثانية بعد روسيا. وفقا لمؤرخ يدعى جي نيبولسين، كانت تعتبر فكرة سيئة للفرس أن تستهلك سمك الحفش في ذلك الوقت. وعلى الرغم من أن إيران لديها العديد من مناطق صيد سمك الحفش، إلا أنه لم يُسمح إلا لرجال الأعمال والصيادين الروس بإدارتها.

أحد رجال الأعمال الروس الذين يديرون صناعة سمك الحفش في إيران كان يسمى ليانوسوف. سيطر على معالجة الكافيار لمدة 32 عامًا ، بدءًا من عام 1893 وانتهاءً حتى عام 1925.

وبما أن الشعب الإيراني لم يكن مهتماً بأي شيء يتعلق بحفش الحفش، قام رجال الأعمال الروس بتصدير الكافيار من إيران إلى استراخان، وهو مكان في روسيا.

تاريخ الكافيار القديم

وعلى الرغم من الميزة الكبيرة التي كانت تتمتع بها روسيا فيما يتعلق بتوريد سمك الحفش والكافيار، فإن إحدى المشاكل التي واجهها رجال الأعمال هي الحفاظ على الكافيار. وكان الطقس الحار في إيران أحد أسباب ذلك، باستثناء حقيقة أنه كان لا بد من السفر عبر جميع الكافيار لمسافات طويلة. لم تمكن هذه العوامل من أن تكون نوعية الكافيار الفارسي معروفة عالميًا خارج روسيا.

ولم يبدأ ذلك إلا في عام 1927 عندما بدأت إيران في إدارة صناعة الكافيار الخاصة بها بشكل لا يمكن الاعتماد عليه، عندما تم إنشاء معاهدة تسمى إيران-ماهي. وعلى الرغم من أن إيران لم تحصل إلا على 15% من الأرباح من إدارة أعمال سمك الحفش في مياهها الخاصة، إلا أنها كانت بداية رائعة. ولم تستمر المعاهدة المذكورة إلا حتى عام 1953، أي بعد 26 عاما من إنشائها ولم تجدد مرة أخرى. وقد أدى هذا الحدث إلى ظهور فرصة أكبر لإيران – وهي شركة الكافيار المملوكة للدولة.

اسم الشركة هو (شيلات). وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الشركة مملوكة للدولة، إلا أن هذا لم يسقط سيطرة السوفييت على صناعة الكافيار الإيرانية في وقت واحد. ومع ذلك، نقل رجال الأعمال الروس معظم الكافيار المنتج إلى روسيا لغرض الاستهلاك، وكذلك إعادة بيعه إلى بلدان أخرى.

تم تطوير تقنيات أفضل للنقل والحفظ بعد الثورة الإيرانية. الآن مع تزايد المعرفة من تجهيز الكافيار، وكان شيلات قادرة على النمو لدرجة أنها لم تعد بحاجة الروس للسيطرة على الأعمال التجارية.

Ancient History of Caviar

Ancient Period

Before humans came into being, there were already many of living organisms dominating the Earth for millions of years. Marine organisms such as sharks have been in considerable number some 400 million years ago during the Devonian Period, where fishes were already diverse.

Evolution gave rise to a family of bony fishes called Acipenseridae, now most commonly known as the sturgeon. The sturgeons first appeared around 150 million years ago during the Cretaceous period. This makes the sturgeon family one of the oldest bony fish families that are still alive today. In appearance, the sturgeons appear unique by having five rows of bony plates called scutes formed around their body. These scutes provide additional protection against predators.

To give an idea of how old the sturgeon family is, it is best to compare it with another species that is also present until today. Common bone findings of Homo sapiens (the modern-day humans) point out that the human ancestors have appeared around only 40,000 years ago. However, there are other findings that date back to around 100,000 to 200,000 years ago. These recorded years of human appearance make sturgeons almost like living fossils for having existed for 150 million years ago.

Ancient History of Caviar

After the Cretaceous Period, sturgeons survived a few other periods where land mammals became abundant. Today, most sturgeon species are found in the northern hemisphere.

Sturgeons live longer than most other fishes, with the female having a longer lifespan than the male. However, sturgeons spawn for the first time after they mature, around 6 to 15 years which is very long.

Some sturgeon species are known to be anadromous, which means that they migrate to freshwater for the sole purpose of spawning. This stage can be critical to the lives of sturgeons because they usually spawn on shallow freshwater, making them exposed to fishers. As mentioned before, sturgeons have scutes to protect them from predators, but these scutes can be caught in fisher nets and could lead to the sturgeons’ capture.

Present Time

Nowadays, there were two major recent factors that result in the decline of the sturgeon population in the early 1990s. The first one is water pollution brought about by the wastes produced by factories near bodies of water, and the second is overfishing. This issue, however, has drastically improved by the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES), which has lead to a gradual increase in sturgeon in the Caspian Sea.

The overwhelming majority (80-95%) of the caught sturgeons today come from the Caspian Sea. This started to happen when geological activities led to the movement of land masses of the Mediterranean-Black Sea-Caspian marine belt away from each other, producing four bodies of water. The newly formed bodies of water are called as the Caspian, Black, Azov, and Aral Seas.

Sturgeons reached the said four bodies of water from the Mediterranean Sea. Unfortunately, not all these bodies of water provided a good habitat to the sturgeons. The water level of the Aral Sea was observed to decline in fast rates, making the remaining water more concentrated of salts that eventually led to the decline of the sturgeon population. The depletion of the Aral Sea water was due to the irrigation system of a nearby cotton plantation.

History of Caviar

The Caspian Sea

Of the four bodies of water where the sturgeons went, the Caspian Sea has provided the best habitat even until the present day.

Table 1. Record sturgeon catches
(selected years 1885-1908)
Water Body Species of sturgeon Yearly catch
(metric tons)
Caspian Sea and tributaries Beluga 15,000
Caspian Sea and tributaries Osetra 25,000
Caspian Sea and tributaries All species 45,000
Azov Sea and tributaries All species 6,500
Rivers
Amur Kaluga and Amur 100
Siberian rivers Siberian 1,300
Hudson Atlantic 2,500
Delaware Atlantic 2,300
East coast rivers All species 3,300
Fraser White 500
Columbia White 2,500
Mississippi basin Shovelnose and paddlefish 1,000
Lakes
Erie Lake 2,300
Huron Lake 500
Lake-of-the-woods Lake 500
Michigan Lake 300
Ontario Lake 300
Superior Lake 300
St. Clair Lake 300

The Table 1 above clearly shows that from the year 1885 to 1908, the Caspian Sea was the source of most of the sturgeon catches.

You may know that the Caspian Sea is the largest inland body in the world. It is also a brackish body of water which means that it contains slightly salty water. Covering an area of around 400,000 square kilometers, stretching for 1,200 kilometers long and having a width of 200 to 560 kilometers, the Caspian Sea has been the home of many species, particularly the sturgeons.

The Caspian Sea is surrounded by mostly Asian countries – Azerbaijan at the west, Iran at the south, Turkmenistan at the southeast, and Kazakhstan and Russia at the northeast and northwest, respectively.

Caviar History

Threats from the Caspian Sea

Most of the water of the Caspian Sea comes from the Volga River from Russia, contributing to around 60%.  Water from other rivers and precipitation make up the remaining percentage. Since the Caspian Sea is landlocked, it is good to understand that it has no natural water outflow aside from evaporation and activities that sources out water from it. This is the reason why the Caspian Sea has lower salinity of only 12 to 13 parts per thousand (ppt) compared to that of the ocean’s, which is around 36 ppt.

As mentioned before, the southern region of the Caspian Sea is near Iran. This is less polluted because an underwater ridge separates it from the other parts of the said Sea. Also, it goes as deep as 900 meters.

Table 2. World sturgeon catches
1986-1990 (metric tons)
1986 1987 1988 1989 1990
Iran 21,817 25991 29027 36880 45056
Russia 1,690 1759 1851 2051 2020
Turkmenistan 546 519 314 232 277
Azerbaijan 56 50 53 91 41
Kazakhstan 31 32 18 19 4
Others 55 40 28 45 274
TOTAL 24,195 28,391 31,291 39,318 47,672

As can be seen from Table 2 presented above, Iran was by far the holder of the highest sturgeon catches for the year 1986 up to 1990.

History of caviar

Iran Leads the Caviar Market

Aside from the USSR, Iran has always held a significant amount of sturgeon catch from the years shown in Table 2.

There was a reason behind why Iranian caviar consumption comes only second after Russia. According to a historian named G. Nebolsin, it was considered a bad idea for Persians to consume sturgeons at that time. Although Iran has had many sturgeon fishing grounds, only Russian businessmen and fishermen were allowed to manage them.

One of the Russian businessmen that ran the sturgeon industry of Iran was called Lyanozov. He controlled the caviar processing for 32 years, starting from 1893 and ending to 1925.

Since the people of Iran weren’t interested in anything that involved sturgeons, Russian businessmen exported the caviar from Iran to Astrakhan, a place in Russia.

Ancient caviar history

Despite the huge advantage that Russia had in terms of the supply of sturgeons and caviar, one problem that businessmen encountered was the preservation of the caviar. Iran’s hot weather was one of the reasons for this, aside from the fact that all caviar had to be traveled over long distances. These factors didn’t enable the quality of the Persian caviar to be globally known outside Russia.

It was only in 1927 when Iran started to independetly run their own caviar industry, when a treaty called Iran-Mahi was created. Although Iran only got 15% of the profit from running the sturgeon business in its own water, it was a great start. The said treaty only lasted until 1953, 26 years after its creation and was not renewed again. This event gave rise to a bigger opportunity to Iran – a state-owned caviar company.

The company’s name is Shilat. Although this is a state-owned company, this did not drop the control of the Soviet to the Iranian caviar industry at once. Still, Russian businessmen transferred most of the produced caviar back to Russia for the purpose of consumption, as well as reselling it to other countries.

Better transportation and preservation techniques were developed after the Iranian revolution. Now with the increasing knowledge of the caviar processing, Shilat was able to grow to the point that they no longer need the Russians to control the business.